Microsoft is making many changes with their newest operating system, Windows 10. At the time of this article I am using Windows 10 Technical Preview Build 9926. Starting with Windows 8 and continuing into Windows 10, when you delete a file you don’t get a ” Would you like to delete this file?” confirmation dialog box. This setting is still disabled by default in the Windows 10 Build 9926. Below you will find a short video on how to disable this feature. If you would rather follow the written directions, you will find them below.
I personally don’t mind when I delete a file, that is just deletes it, and doesn’t prompt me to confirm my actions. However, if you want the extra security prompt before you delete the a file, here is how you enable it in Windows 10. These settings should also apply to Windows 8 or 8.1 as described in this article.
Step Two: Check the box “Display delete confirmation dialog box”. Select Apply and then OK. Make sure you select the hard drive that you want this setting to affect. On my computer I have an SSD for the operating system and another hard drive for document storage. You can specify the setting for both drives or just one. Pretty neat!
Now when you delete a file you will get the following dialog box instead of the file just automatically going into the Recycle Bin.
Let me know if this tip helped and if you would like other articles like this.
This was posted by techspeeder.