Microsoft is making many changes with their newest operating system, Windows 10. At the time of this article I am using Windows 10 Technical Preview Build 9926. Starting with Windows 8 and continuing into Windows 10, when you delete a file you don’t get a ” Would you like to delete this file?” confirmation dialog box. This setting is still disabled by default in the Windows 10 Build 9926. Below you will find a short video on how to disable this feature. If you would rather follow the written directions, you will find them below.
I personally don’t mind when I delete a file, that is just deletes it, and doesn’t prompt me to confirm my actions. However, if you want the extra security prompt before you delete the a file, here is how you enable it in Windows 10. These settings should also apply to Windows 8 or 8.1 as described in this article.
Step Two: Check the box “Display delete confirmation dialog box”. Select Apply and then OK. Make sure you select the hard drive that you want this setting to affect. On my computer I have an SSD for the operating system and another hard drive for document storage. You can specify the setting for both drives or just one. Pretty neat!